duran2.net : reviews

FMG UK Ltd: Duran Duran Announce New Single and Album Produced by Mark Ronson
Sunday, 14 November 2010

Announce Their Stunning New Single... 'All You Need Is Now'

Available Worldwide Exclusively Via The iTunes Store December 14th, 2010

Taken From Their Much Anticipated 13th Studio Album 'ALL YOU NEED IS NOW' Produced by Mark Ronson

9-Track Digital LP To Be Released December 21st Exclusively On The ITunes Store

Extended Physical Release On CD & Vinyl With Extra Tracks To Be Released February 2011

November 11th Ė London England

The four original members of DURAN DURAN: John Taylor, Roger Taylor, Nick Rhodes and Simon Le Bon - have today announced the global release of their much anticipated 13th studio album, entitled 'ALL YOU NEED IS NOW'. The 9-track digital LP is due out exclusively on the iTunes Store on December 21st, while the expanded physical album and various format special packages will be released in February 2011.

The first single from the record, title track 'All You Need Is Now', will be available worldwide on December 14th exclusively on the iTunes Store.

Produced by the Grammy Award-winning Mark Ronson (Amy Winehouse, Adele, Kaiser Chiefs, Lily Allen) and mixed by Spike Stent (Madonna, Bjork, No Doubt), 'ALL YOU NEED IS NOW' is a return-to-roots homage to DURAN DURAN'S most celebrated musical panache.

With a phenomenal career that has spanned three decades, and record sales of more than 80 million, DURAN DURAN certainly has a storied history, but this new tale begins back in 2008. As part of a year-long run, they headlined festivals in a number of countries, playing arenas in others, and become the first group ever to perform at the Louvre Museum in Paris. Two nights later, in the same city, Duran Duran treated fans to a specially created 'mega-mix' one-hour set that was filmed in a tiny theatre, with long-time-fan, Mark Ronson. This rare live performance immediately proved that there was a powerful chemistry between Ronson and the band, and within just a few weeks, a much larger collaboration had developed, with Mark committing to produce the bandís 13th studio album. Starting out in the late Spring of 2009, at Sphere Studios in London, this much-anticipated Duran/Ronson union flourished, as writing and recording began on an exciting new body of work, which Ronson has boldly stated is the 'imaginary follow up to Rio that never was'. With this newfound partnership, the band was energized and excited by the music they were creating. The result is nothing short of pure Duran Duran brilliance harking back to their classic signature sound which spawned hit record after hit record. The album features guest vocals/rap from longtime Duran Duran pal/collaborator Ana Matronic of the Scissor Sisters while Owen Pallett of Arcade Fire contributes the albumís string arrangements. Always at the forefront of the art scene, the band enlisted the talents of up-and-coming British artist Clunie Reid for the album artwork and packaging. Reidís work has been recently exhibited at leading UK and US spaces, including the Saatchi Gallery, the Tate and the New Museum in New York. British fashion magazine POPís creative team will provide graphics and art direction for the project. Before the band embarks on their Spring 2011 world tour to promote the album, they will head to South Africa on December 7th for a 5-date concert series, marking the first time in seventeen years that the band has played in Africa.

The stats on DURAN DURAN are remarkable: a total of over 80 million records sold, 18 American hit singles, 30 UK chart hits and a global presence that guarantees them huge arena and stadium concert audiences on five continents.

More remarkable still is the way they have achieved this, fusing pop music with art, fashion and technology. When they first broke in the early 1980s, Duran Duran single-handedly transformed music videos from a gimmicky marketing tool into one of the music industry's most valued assets. With exotic locations, beautiful girls and stunning special effects, Duran Duran took the visual imperatives of the New Romantic movement to another level, defining the MTV generation and building a loyal army of fans who have stayed with them to this day. Now a seemingly unstoppable force, with no fewer than five prestigious Lifetime Achievement Awards under their belt from MTV VMA's, the Brit Awards, the Ivor Novellos, the Spanish Ondas and Q Magazine, the four original members of Duran Duran are in a category with only a handful of other internationally acclaimed artists.

As this new chapter begins, they have nothing left to prove, but everything to play for. So for them... All You Need Is Now! Digital LP track listing in full:

1. All You Need Is Now
2. Blame The Machines
3. Being Followed
4. Leave A Light On
5. Safe
6. Girl Panic
7. The Man Who Stole A Leopard
8. Runway Runaway
9. Before The Rain

A 12-track physical package will be available for purchase on CD and Vinyl with special deluxe options in February 2011.

top | back to index